Le chant de la machine

2020 - Electronic soundscape
Composed on eigth speakers

"The song of the machine" is the result of an exploration of the infinite limits of technology. I went in search of sound materials with, in all and for all, a recording of a few seconds of digital silence (understand I pressed "Record" when nothing was plugged in input, I went to look by the window, I came back and it was done).

Thanks to extreme settings, pushing the samplers, plug-ins to the limit and using the digital audio tools at my disposal against the current, sound escaped. I caught it as best I could, and there I did everything. All the tweaks I had never tried, all the tools I had never dared to thwart and all the mistakes I had always been afraid of. Three resonant filters, a dozen random re-injections and a few exaggerated transpositions later, I had aimed a bank of sounds.
And finally, in spite of the violence of certain gestures, in spite of the bloody fight between the machine and me, in spite of the blows of firedamp, in spite of the strokes, it almost came out of the velvet and the charm. After the storm passed, a kind of sweetness emerged. A disturbed electronic soundscape, sometimes erratic chase, sometimes contemplative face-to-face, could take shape.


It was interesting, through this work, to probe what the machine was capable of producing and to enter with it in this showdown. Does it have things to tell me when it no longer understands me? Can I make it lose control? What happens when I push it to her last entrenchments?


I didn't get a clear answer, it didn't speak.
But it almost sang.

Le chant de la machineMélanie Frisoli
00:00 / 12:30
Get in touch

This is an independent website. The Ableton Certified Trainer is not an Ableton employee. For the official Ableton website go to: www.ableton.com

Le chant de la machine

2020 - Paysage sonore électronique
Pièce acousmatique (et normalement) octophonique


« Le chant de la machine » est le fruit d’une exploration des limites infinies de la technologie. Je suis partie à la recherche de matériaux sonores avec, en tout et pour tout, un enregistrement de quelques secondes de silence numérique (comprendre j’ai appuyé sur «Record» alors que rien n’était branché en entrée, je suis allée regarder par la fenêtre, je suis revenue et c’était fait).

Grâce à des réglages extrêmes, en poussant à bout les échantillonneurs, les plugiciels et en utilisant à contre-courant les outils audionumériques à ma disposition, du son s’est échappé. Je l’ai attrapé comme j’ai pu, et là, j’ai tout fait. Tous les réglages que je n’avais jamais tentés, tous les outils que je n’avais jamais osé contrarier et toutes les erreurs dont j’avais toujours eu peur.
Trois filtres résonants, une dizaine de réinjections hasardeuses et quelques transpositions exagérées plus tard, j’avais braqué une banque de sons.

Et finalement, malgré la violence de certains gestes, malgré la bagarre sanglante entre la machine et moi, malgré les coups de grisou, malgré les coups d’émoi, il en est quasiment sorti du velours et du charme. Une fois la tempête passée, une sorte de douceur a émergé. Un paysage sonore électronique troublé, tantôt course-poursuite erratique, tantôt face-à-face contemplatif, a pu prendre corps.
Il fut intéressant, à travers ce travail, de sonder ce que la machine était capable de produire et d’entrer avec elle dans ce bras de fer. A-t-elle des choses à me dire quand elle ne me comprend plus? Puis-je lui faire perdre le contrôle? Que se passe-t-il quand je la pousse dans ses derniers retranchements?
Je n’ai pas eu de réponse claire, elle n’a pas parlé.


Mais elle a presque chanté.

Le chant de la machineMélanie Frisoli
00:00 / 12:30
Get in touch

This is an independent website. The Ableton Certified Trainer is not an Ableton employee. For the official Ableton website go to: www.ableton.com